Item has been added to your cart
Sub Total: £0.00

When it comes to discussing the environment, the subject of eco-friendly, renewable and sustainable timber is inescapable from the debate, and it's no surprise why...

Deforestation is the second biggest source of greenhouse gases after fossil fuel emissions. As a result of this, everyone from architects to professional contractors are persuaded to use timber materials that have been specially derived from sustainable forests in new construction projects going forward.

A sustainable forest is one which replants the trees that are felled, diminishing the damage done from exploiting woodland areas and reducing the effects of global warming. So to deal with the various types of forest spaces, there are more than 50 certification programmes that take the differences into account.

What's The Difference Between FSC & PEFC?

Amongst the 50 certifications, FSC and PEFC are the most well recognised.

The Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) sets the global standard for managing forests with 10 principles that can be followed by a forest manager. The international FSC standards have to be interpreted on a national basis in order to be put into effect in local forest areas.

The Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification (PEFC) is an international organisation that also focuses on sustainable forest management through external certification, taking into account the ethics and the supply process of timber production. PEFC is not a standards body and operates instead under a scheme of shared party recognition.

Are There Any Other Differences Between FSC & PEFC?

Although both bodies are dedicated to sustainable forest management, they focus on separate environments. The FSC was initially set up for tropical forest areas, but due to the differing climates and forests around the world, this led to the introduction of the PEFC in 1999 to accommodate wooded areas in both Europe and North America.

PEFC represent more than 264 million hectares of forest with recognition in over 30 countries.

FSC accounts for 7% of the world’s forest area (180 million hectares) with recognised certification in over 80 countries.

Post By Ed Mason